You know, I was searching for something totally unrelated to this blog on the internet and found a pathway to it...and realized it was mine that I started a long time ago.
I read some of my old posts...I think the 2011 me would be shocked as to the path the 2018 world has taken. Since I am the 2011 me, I can confirm that.
I feel about as pessimistic about the future of America as I ever have. I study history; I know we've gone through civil wars, the turbulent 60's, big wars and little wars...and come through (basically) fine.
But...this just feels different to me. It seems the power struggle between right and left is truly escalating. The part I don't understand is why that is the case.
I'm pretty liberal... on a scale of 1-100, where one is a fascist and 100 is a commie, I'm about a 62. But the low end of that scale seems to be winning, and convincing people that conservative elites are the path to prosperity.
I have no idea why a poor white person (who comprises the overwhelming majority of the right) feels this way. I wish someone could explain it to me.
Poor people in the US, and globally, need:
1. Affordable education
2. Comprehensive health care
3. Jobs
4. Constant job training
5. Affordable housing
Most of that list is alien to the right. They want people to work, but really don't want to help them get jobs. They want them to have some health care, but not to the extent that they can be truly healthy, mentally or physically.
I may start posting here again, and the few of you that care may read it. But I'd really welcome a reasoned debate with those that disagree. If you are out there, please let me hear you.
No comments:
Post a Comment